تأثير الأمريكيين على اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية

غالبًا ما تتم مقارنة اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية والإنجليزية الأمريكية بسبب أوجه التشابه بينهما في النطق والهجاء. وبالعودة إلى الوراء ، استُعمرت الفلبين من قبل الأمريكيين لمدة 48 عامًا ، ولعب التأثير الذي خلقته على الفلبينيين دورًا مهمًا في نظام التعليم في البلاد.

وبسبب هذا التأثير ، فإن اللهجة الفلبينية الإنجليزية هي نفسها تقريبًا اللهجة الإنجليزية الأمريكية باستثناء حقيقة أنها قوية قليلاً مقارنة باللهجة الأخيرة. من المثير للاهتمام أن نلاحظ أن اللغة الإنجليزية تعتبر الآن اللغة الثانية للفلبين ، إن لم تكن اللغة الرسمية من قبل بعض الفلبينيين وخاصة أولئك الذين يعيشون في المدن الكبرى مثل مترو مانيلا وسيبو. بالتأكيد ، أينما كنت في الفلبين ، سوف يبهرك الفلبينيون بمهاراتهم في التواصل باللغة الإنجليزية.

لكن هل تعلم أن اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية قد حصلت على البديل الخاص بها من اللغة الإنجليزية؟ ما هو أكثر ذكاء هو أن هذه المصطلحات شائعة فقط في اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية ولكن ليس في الإنجليزية الأمريكية. الآن ، اسمحوا لي أن أعلمك عن المصطلحات الستة المجنونة المستخدمة في اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية.

SALVAGE و SAVAGE توأمان.

من كان يظن أن كلمة   سالفيج تعني “القتل خارج نطاق القضاء”في الفلبين؟ في حين أن معنى القاموس للكلمة هو “حفظ” ، فهو عكس ذلك تمامًا في الفلبين. بالنسبة للفلبينيين ، هذه الكلمة لها المعنى الدقيق لـ “قتل”. يعتقد الكثيرون أن معنى كلمة “إنقاذ” أصبح شائعًا خلال نظام ديكتاتورية ماركوس. وفقًا للبعض ، تم استخدامه لأول مرة خلال نظام ديكتاتورية ماركوس عندما أمر الجيش بإعدام الآلاف من الفلبينيين دون دليل قانوني أو سبب أو محاكمة. يُعتقد أن المصطلح قد نشأ من كلمة تاغالوغية ‘salbahe’ (مشتقة من الإسبانية salvaje) ، والتي تعني وحشي أو وحشي. في الوقت الحاضر ، يبدو أن كلمتي “SAVAGE” و “SALVAGE” توأمان في اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية! حقيقة ممتعة

إنها غرفة استراحة للأمريكيين ولكن C.R. للفلبينيين!

نداء الطبيعة؟ من الأفضل أن تندفع بنفسك إلى CR! نعم ، سمعته بشكل صحيح لأن الفلبينيين أكثر دراية بالمصطلح أكثر من المصطلحات الأمريكية ‘غرفة الراحة او غرفة الغسيل Restroom or Washroom. قد يأخذك بعض الفلبينيين إلى غرفة النوم لأنها حرفياً غرفة يمكنك الراحة فيها أو إلى غرفة الاستحمام لأنك بالتأكيد تستطيع غسل وتنظيف نفسك داخل الحمام. مضحك جدا!

!أنت مضيفة؟ مقزز

في اللغة الإنجليزية الأمريكية ، تشير المضيفة إلى امرأة تستضيف أو تقيم حفلة ولكن في اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية، لها دلالة سلبية خاصة بها. في الواقع ، إذا اكتشف أصدقاؤك الفلبينيون أنك مضيفة ، فاستعد لتفقدهم جميعًا. لماذا ا؟ ببساطة لأن كلمة “Hostess” تعني “عاهرة” في اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية ، نفس الشيء ينطبق على اختصار G.R.O. ، مما يعني موظف علاقات النزلاء. إذا كنت لا تزال ترغب في تلقي دعوة طرف آخر مرة أخرى ، فمن الأفضل أن تنسى هذا المصطلح مضيفة وقل فقط “شخص يقيم حفلة” أطول ، أكثر أمانًا!

‘Ref’ للفلبينيين . ‘Fridge’ للاميركيين! “البراد”

أقصر كلما كان ذلك أفضل! هذا ما يحب الفلبينيون فعله. إذا سألت شخصًا عن مكان المشروبات الباردة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيجيب “المشروبات موجودة داخل المرجع!” بالنسبة للفلبينيين ، كلمة ثلاجة يصعب نطقها لأنها طويلة. الثلاجة طويلة قليلاً ، لكن المرجع قصير جدًا! باختصار ، إنها “Ref” في الفلبين ولكنها “ثلاجة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

Fill Up “املأ  مقابل. Fill Out “اكمل”

عندما تكون في الفلبين ، قد يصبح توقيع وثيقة معقدًا بعض الشيء. سيطلب منك بعض الفلبينيين “ملء” نموذج. احبس أنفاسك وتأكد من أنك لا تضحك عليهم. بحكم التعريف ، فإن العبارة الجملية “FILL UP” في الإنجليزية الأمريكية تعني تقديم شيء ممتلئ أو ممتلئًا. ومع ذلك ، في اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية ، تعني “FILL UP” إكمال شيء ما بالمعلومات ، مثل نموذج أو استطلاع. الآن ، يجب أن تعلم أنه لا يوجد فرق بين “FILL UP” و “FILL OUT” على الإطلاق.

Nose Bleed!  نزيف الأنف!

فرصة سماع هذا المصطلح أمر لا مفر منه! نعم ، يمكن للفلبينيين فهم اللغة الإنجليزية والتحدث بها ولكن البعض منهم خائف ويصعب عليهم التعبير عن أنفسهم بلغة إنجليزية بطلاقة. “نزيف الأنف” لا يعني أن أنفه ينزف. إنه مصطلح يستخدم في الاستنكار الذاتي ويعني أن الفلبيني لا يستطيع مواكبة اللغة الإنجليزية للشخص الآخر أو يواجه صعوبة في فهم لهجته. إنها طريقتهم في إخبارك بشكل غير مباشر أنهم لم يعودوا يفهمون ما تتحدث عنه. عندما تسمع متحدثًا فلبينيًا يقول ، “انتظر ، أنف” ، لا تضحك لأن هذا يعني ببساطة “توقف ، أنا لا أفهمك حقًا بعد الآن أو آسفًا ، إنكليزي محدود.” لذلك ، عندما تسمع هذا التعبير ، لا تغضب. فقط تضحك معهم وكرر ما تقوله واستخدم كلمات أبسط وأسهل.

خاتمة

هذه ليست سوى بعض المصطلحات المضحكة التي لا يمكنك سماعها باللغة الإنجليزية الأمريكية لأنها موجودة أصلاً فقط في اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية! تمثل هذه المصطلحات حقًا كيف أن الفلبينيين ملتويون ومبدعون. تبدو اللغة الإنجليزية الأمريكية ممتعة حقًا ولكني أقول إن اللغة الإنجليزية الفلبينية ممتعة للغاية!

تعرف على المزيد حول بعض الكلمات الرائعة باللغة الإنجليزية وقم بإثراء مربع المفردات الخاصة بك من خلال اكتشاف كلمات جديدة باللغة الإنجليزية في منشوراتنا اليومية على المدونة على https://qqeng.net/

재미있는 비교 필리핀영어와 미국영어

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

انتقل إلى أعلى

The Influence of the Americans on Filipino English

Filipino English and American English are often compared due to their similarities in pronunciation and spelling. Rooting back, the Philippines has been colonized by the American for 48 years and the influence it created to the Filipinos did play a significant role in the country’s educational system.

Due to this influence, the Filipino English accent is almost the same as the American English accent except for the fact that it’s a little strong compared to the latter. It is interesting to note that now English is considered as the 2nd language of the Philippines, if not the official language by some Filipino people especially those who are living in metropolitan cities like Metro Manila and Cebu. Surely, wherever you are in the Philippines, Filipino will wow you with their English communication skills.

But did you know that Filipino English has gotten its own variant of English? What’s sillier is that these terms common ONLY in Filipino English but never in American English. Now, let me teach you about the 6 Crazy Terms Used in Filipino English.

SALVAGE and SAVAGE are twins.

Who would have thought that the word SALVAGE means “to Kill extra-judicially” in the Philippines? While the dictionary meaning of the word is “to save”, in the Philippines it is the total opposite. For Filipinos, this word has the exact meaning of “to kill”. Many believed that the meaning of the word “salvage” became popular during the regime of Marcos dictatorship. According to some, it was first used during the regime of Marcos dictatorship when he ordered the military to execute thousands of Filipino without legal proof, cause, or trial.  The term is believed to have originated from the Tagalog word ‘salbahe’ (derived from the Spanish salvaje), which means brutal or savage. In the present time, it seems that the words “SAVAGE” and “SALVAGE” are twins in Filipino English! Fun Fact!

It’s Rest Room for Americans but C.R. for Filipinos!

Call of Nature? You better rush yourself to the CR! Yes, you hear it right because Filipino’s are more familiar with the term than with American terms’ Restroom or Washroom. Some Filipinos might take you to the bedroom because that is literally a room where you can rest or to the shower room because you sure can wash and clean yourself inside a washroom. Hilarious!

You’re a Hostess? Disgusting!

In American English, a hostess refers to a woman who hosts or throws a party but in Filipino English, it has its own negative connotation. In fact, if your Filipina friends find out that you’re a hostess, be ready to lose them all. Why? Simply because the word “Hostess” means a “prostitute” in Filipino English same goes with the acronym G.R.O., meaning Guest Relations Officer. If you still want to receive another party invitation  again, better forget that term hostess and just say “someone who throws a party.” The Longer, the safer!

‘Ref’ for Filipinos. ‘Fridge’ for Americans!

The shorter the better! This is what Filipinos love to do. If you ask someone where the cold drinks are, he sure will answer “The drinks are inside the REF!” For Filipinos, the word refrigerator is exhausting to pronounce because it’s LONG. A fridge is a little long, but a REF is just too short! To sum it up, it’s ‘Ref’ in the Philippines but ‘Fridge in the USA.

Fill Up  Vs. Fill Out

When you are in the Philippines, signing a document can become a little tricky. Some Filipinos will instruct you to  “FILL UP” a form.  Hold your breath and make sure you don’t laugh at them. By definition, the phrasal verb “FILL UP” in American English means to make something full or to become full. However, in Filipino English, “FILL UP” means to complete something with the information, like a form or a survey. By now, you should know that “FILL UP” and “FILL OUT” have no difference at all.

Nose Bleed!

The chance of hearing this term is unavoidable! Yes, Filipinos can understand and speak English but some of them are scared and have a hard time expressing themselves in fluent English. “NOSE BLEED” doesn’t mean his/her nose bleeding. It is a term used in self-deprecating humor and means that Filipino can’t keep up with the other person’s English or has difficulty understanding his accent. It is their way of indirectly telling you that they no longer understand what you are talking about. When you hear a Filipino speaking says, “WAIT, NOSEBLEED”, don’t laugh because that simply means “STOP, I DON’T REALLY UNDERSTAND YOU ANYMORE or SORRY, MY ENGLISH IS LIMITED.” So, when you hear this expression, don’t get pissed. Just laugh along with them and just repeat yourself and use simpler and easier words.

Conclusion

These are but some of the funny terms you can’t hear in AMERICAN ENGLISH because they are ORIGINALLY found ONLY in FILIPINO ENGLISH! These terms truly represent how quirky and creative Filipinos are. American English sounds really fun but I say Filipino English is absolutely FUNNER!

Learn more about some fascinating words in English and enrich your vocabulary box by discovering new words in English in our daily blog posts at https://qqeng.net/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.